The Columns of the First Hungarian Stone Theatre, Balatonfüred
Located near the State Hospital, the 10 hectares large English garden, the Kiserdő is also known as the "Lungs of Balatonfüred". The lower part of the garden was created in the 1790's and the upper part was laid out in the second half of the 19th century. Besides the playground and sports grounds, a unique monument is located in the park: these are the six remaining columns of the First Hungarian Stone Theatre (Magyar Játékszín).
After a proposal by Sándor Kisfalufy, the construction of the theatre was funded by public subscription and finished in 1831. The funding was paid by noblemen and peasants alike, especially after it became known that the Emperor's court in Vienna is against the construction. In the founding document of the theatre, a passage states that only Hungarian language is allowed to be spoken in the building. The first play performed was the Hungarian Lady by Karl Töpfer.
The theatre had 4-500 seats and it had a Classicist facade held by 6 marble columns donated by Count László Festetics.
In the 1840's, a summer performing place was built because the stone theater would become so hot during the summers that it could not be used. In 1846, a decision was made to demolish the summer theatre and reconstruct the stone building so that it can be used in all seasons. Among the performers of the theatre were the famous Déryné Róza Széppataki and Róza Laborfalvi.
The theatre was in operation until 1868 when it was closed due to its worsening technical conditions and the building was demolished 10 years later. Though later there was another theatre in the Kiserdő, it was also demolished.
The 6 Doric columns that remained from the building were placed in the Kiserdő in 1958. Every July, there is a commemoration of the theatre with performances.